2 Replies Latest reply on Jun 30, 2015 8:39 AM by rzxxiii

Bandwidth Hoggers

rzxxiii

Hi, Our current internet is the 10mb Globe Tattoo plan. The speed is great, but then this is the family internet it means a lot of devices is connected here. I mean a lot. 2 Desktop Computers, 1 Laptop, 12 Smartphones and 2 Tablets. I'm the one paying the bill, so of course I want the speed. I know it sounds selfish. But it really is infuriating when you're trying to get some work done but then one of the devices hogs all the bandwidth. Now what I want to know is how can I control their bandwidth usage? Our current setup is the Globe Router(Aztec) is Connected to a Linksys E1000 router via LAN Cable, then from the Linksys router, My computer is directly connected to it using again a LAN Cable, and a repeater is connected too using the same method. And the other devices are wirelessly connected. Can anyone help me? BTW, you can use tech jargon. I'm a computer science graduate.

Update: The linksys was not bought by me, it was the setup of my Ninong's friend who was IDK a guy who could setup network shiz.

Thank you

• Re: Bandwidth Hoggers
          kaglobestephen

Hi rzxxiii,

Here's the technical jargon answer for you:

Your main concern is that you have traffic flowing in both directions.  There's upstream (the data you send our to the Internet) and downstream (the data that is sent you from the internet).  Whether you have a linksys, Aztec or even the fanciest Cisco or Juniper the reality is that you can control traffic in one direction only.

Therefore your home router can only control the rate of the traffic it sends *out* to the Internet.  Thus it would be completely ineffective and counter productive to try and regulate the traffic coming in because it would *already* have arrived at the router through the DSL line (the point of your congestion).